El Sennor

That’s a place I want to visit: Cave el Sennor كهف السنور.

تحتوى المحمية على تراكيب جيولوجية معروفه باسم الصواعد والهوابط فى صورة مثالية جميلة تكونت عبر ملايين السنين، حيث يرجع تكوينه إلى عصر الأيوسين الأوسط حوالى 60 مليون سنة نتيجة تسرب المحاليل المائية المشبعة بأملاح كربونات الكالسيوم خلال سقف الكهف ثم تبخرت تاركة هذه الأملاح المعدنية التى تراكمت على هيئة رواسب من الصواعد والهوابط ، يمتد الكهف مسافة حوالى 700 م واتساعه حوالى15 م وعمقه حوالى15 م

When I used to study Geology in sanaweya amma, the Stalactite and stalagmite  lesson was my favorite! It always fascinated me this weird formation of the earth.

A stalagmite (from the Greek stalagma (“Σταλαγμίτης”), “drop” or “drip”) is a type of speleothem that rises from the floor of a limestone cave due to the dripping of mineralized solutions and the deposition of calcium carbonate.

A stalactite (Greek stalaktites, (Σταλακτίτης), from the word for “drip” and meaning “that which drips”) is a type of speleothem (secondary mineral) that hangs from the ceiling or wall of limestone caves. It is sometimes referred to as dripstone.

I saw these amazing formations only once in my life. It was at Jeita cave in Lebanon. Recently I got to learn about Djarra cave, tab3an it is one of the places I want to visit in Egypt, but it’s a bit far. Only few weeks ago I heard about EL Sennor cave, it’s considerably close to Cairo (200 km), I can go there and return on the same day. Ya rab!🙂

Leave a Reply

