WANTED: Twentieth Century Impressions of Egypt

I am dying to find this book: Twentieth Century Impressions of Egypt. (Editor in Chief, Arnold Wright “London”, Assisstant Editor: H. A. Cartwright “Cairo”). It was published by Lloyd’s Greater Britain Publishing Company 1909.

https://i0.wp.com/www.duaut.net/20thC/Title.jpg

There is an article about my great grandfather! And I saw only one paragraph of it! I really really really really want to have a copy of it!

Did anyone try the AUC rare books library? Should I be an AUCian to dig in their books? Do you think it can be found in dar el watha`ek?!

Check out this link: http://www.duaut.net/Archive.html if you were into modern Egyptian history with scanned articles and pictures from 1900’s.

17 responses to “WANTED: Twentieth Century Impressions of Egypt

    • Dear Mai/ Mohamed, i need to photo copy this book coz two of my grandfathers were listed in it. Thanks. khaled Abdel latif

      • Dear Khaled, i have the book but to have it photo copied that would be almost impossible, but I wouldn’t mind photo copying the two pages with regards to your two grandfathers. Let me know, Nadia

    • Hi Mohamed/Mai, I’m looking for that book as well since my grandfather wrote in a message that he is mentioned in the book. I also found a copy of the book at the British Library and they also can send me 100 pages photocopied. Problem: the book is 500+ pages and I don’t know where my grandpa could have been mentioned. Could you be so kind to send me just the table of content of the book so I can try and guess which 100 pages to ask the British Library?? Thanks in advance.

  1. Hello,
    Dear All,
    My name is Hisham Noureddin, my grandpa listed also and i need to photocopy this book also please.

    • If anyone finds a copy I would be very anxious to see it. We used to possess a copy but my mother had to leave it behind when she left Egypt in 1963. My father and five of his brothers are listed in the book which also contains photographs of three of them.

      I believe that the British Library in London has a copy as a cousin of mine who worked at the British Museum kindly took photos of some of the pages for me some years ago.

      • Solomon,

        My name is Eric. My mothers maiden is Green. She is Jewish and was born in Cairo. Would you be willing to answer questions I have? We might be distant relatives.

      • Eric,

        Your mother would almost certainly have been a relative. The Jewish Greens in Egypt were all descended from two brothers whose original name was Gren (or Ghren, as it was pronounced). The only exception being the descendants of j Green a Palestinian Jew, a leading chemical and pharmaceutical importer, who changed his name from Grun to Green at the beginning of the Second World War.

  2. i have the original book
    please contact me if you want it
    my cell phone is 002 0100 623 624 2
    i will be waiting for your call
    shafik

  3. I know someone in Cairo who has an original copy they are willing to sell. Please contact me via email if you are interested to make an offer.

  4. My great grandfather Reginald Lloyd created this book, as one of a series on Commonwealth Countries.
    The total collection is in the British Library.
    Hope you all have your grandparents information by now.

    • how much the price of this book: Twentieth Century Impressions of Egypt. (Editor in Chief, Arnold Wright “London”, Assisstant Editor: H. A. Cartwright “Cairo”). It was published by Lloyd’s Greater Britain Publishing Company 1909.

      hamdi.abbas.63@gmail.com?

  5. Dear Nosha, I have the the book you are dying to find: Twentieth Century Impressions of Egypt. (Editor in Chief, Arnold Wright “London”, Assisstant Editor: H. A. Cartwright “Cairo”). It was published by Lloyd’s Greater Britain Publishing Company 1909.

    If u are still interested contact me: hamdi.abbas.63@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

