Cairo is overwhelming me

I love Egypt. But when I identify where I live, I don’t feel that I am living in Egypt. No,, I am living in Cairo. Some say Egypt when they mean Cairo, but this is wrong. Also the extreme centralization is wrong. I know that life in Egypt was, is and will be always by the nile. This is how things are. But when Egypt = Cairo, then there is definitely wrong.

For example, among all the friends I have, I know only one who lives in Alexandria. And when I hear that someone lives in any city I feel kinda sorry for him. It’s weird for example that the number of cinemas outside Cairo and Alexandria might not exceed 10 (and I am very skeptical they would exceed even 5!), and I rarely hear about major “interesting” events held outside Cairo and Alexandria! Why? Can this be amended??!

Anyway

I just wanted to say that Cairo overwhelms me. There are simply too much action going on here. I feel like I need to have at least 48 hours in my day to work and 10 days in my week to see friends, see the family, pray, attend events, study, read, play sports, enjoy my hobbies, and after all this take some time to relax and just do nothing.

I don’t know whether this is a syndrome of all capital cities, or is it a problem of time management, or if it is a simple want-to-do-it-all phase…

3 responses to “Cairo is overwhelming me

  1. I think what you facing is just because you are a very active person, and I can see this in this amazing and useful blog.
    I am facing the same problem here, [but mine is a mini one comparing to yours], because there is no activities where I live.
    and I am jealous🙂

  2. I’ve GON MADE cause OF CAIRO I WANT TO LIVE BY THE SEA ALX OR MATROO7 WOULD BE QUITE OK BUT CENTRALIZATION IS ARM TWISTING LIKE AIKIDO MOVES HAHAHA

Leave a Reply

