Blending Physical Therapy with Martial Arts

http://clarkson.edu/news/thumbnail.php?img=news%2Fphotos%2Frussek-aikido.jpg&size=200

“The physical aspects of Aikido overlap with the physical aspects of physical therapy in many respects. For example, in physical therapy, when I am laying my hands on a person to stretch out a muscle, I have to be relaxed for them to relax. If I touch a person when I am tensed, they’ll tend to be tensed. In Aikido, it’s exactly the same way. The same physical skill and the same sense of connecting to a person from my center that is used in Aikido are used in physical therapy.” – Leslie Russek

2 responses to “Blending Physical Therapy with Martial Arts

Leave a Reply

