Cycling in Egypt

 

كتبت ـ هالة السيد‏:‏

خلال الأيام المقبلة‏,‏ وفي محاولة جادة للحد من التلوث والاختناق‏,‏ تشهد أربعة أحياء في القاهرة هي‏:‏ مصر القديمة‏,‏ ودار السلام‏,‏ ومنشية ناصر‏,‏ والسيدة زينب‏,‏ تنفيذ أول مشروع لاستخدام الدراجات وسيلة للمواصلات بالعاصمة بدلا من الأوتوبيسات والدراجات البخارية‏,‏ وسيتم تسليم‏650‏ دراجة هوائية للمتقدمين في المرحلة الأولي من قائمة انتظار طويلة طلب أصحابها الانضمام للفكرة‏.‏ والمشروع يموله البرنامج الوطني للمنح الصغيرة التابع لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي‏,‏ والمكتب العربي للشباب والتنمية‏,‏ وتنفذه جمعية نهوض وتنمية المرأة‏,‏ وستقام احتفالية الأحد المقبل‏,‏ لتوزيع الدفعة الأولي من الدراجات‏.‏ وقال الدكتور عماد عدلي المنسق الوطني لبرنامج المنح الصغيرة إن المشروع يهدف لتغيير المفاهيم والسلوكيات الاجتماعية‏,‏ والحد من استخدام المواطنين للسيارات بكثافة حتي ولو لمسافات قصيرة‏,‏ مما يؤدي إلي الاختناقات المرورية والتلوث البيئي‏.‏ وأكدت الدكتورة إيمان بيبرس رئيسة جمعية النهوض وتنمية المرأة أن المشروع إلي جانب أنه يساعد الشباب في الحصول علي الدراجة مقابل‏20‏ جنيها شهريا فقط‏,‏ فهو يسهم في خفض ازدحام المواطنين علي المركبات العامة‏.‏ وقد لاقت الفكرة إقبالا كبيرا من الشباب حتي أصبحت هناك قائمة انتظار طويلة من كل الشرائح الاجتماعية‏,‏ التي تشمل المعلمين‏,‏ ومندوبي المبيعات‏,‏ والذين يحلمون بالحصول علي وظيفة ويحتاجون لوسيلة انتقالات تساعدهم علي الحركة‏.‏

A big LOL from el Ahram

Even though I love the idea, and I hope that one day it will really come true, I DOUBT it that we can do that ! It’s not that I am a typical pessimistic Egyptian who would see the negative part in everything, it’s just not in our culture to see people cycling all over the capital !

For me I love cycling. Every other weekend, me and some friends go on cycling early in the morning in quiet places, and you can’t imagine the sort of comments I hear on the streets !!! If I was alone, I just put on my headphone and pretend to be from somewhere else.

https://i1.wp.com/www.cyclingcountry.com/Images/CyclingCountryLogoSmall.jpg

el mohem, let’s try to have a more optimistic view, what if this initiative gained unexpected success, and people started to leave their cars at home and go to work by bicycles. And after few years, the association for cycling would organize an annual Tour of Egypt (just like Tour de France), we’d cycle all over Egypt🙂 Wow,, that would be amazing !! I have received a mail from someone who was telling his journey of cycling from Cairo to El Sukhna, and there is another one who went to Sinai and tried to cycle all over it, but had to return to Cairo after the bombings of Dahab…. I hope that one day I would do something like that, tab3an I should try to develop my fitness to go through this ! (Note to self: add this to my To-Do list)

 

 

4 responses to “Cycling in Egypt

  1. I remember, quite a few years back, I used to bike to and from the club everyday in the summer, it was quiet the experience, scary experience that is. Sharing the road with the gigantic old buses, frantic microbuses and suicidal delivery motor bikes.

    That said, it would been great if there were more respect and space for bikers. Its a great refreshing exercise.

  2. yalla ya Nesrina, if you really want it then you can do it, if you need any help just let me know.

    Memz: It;s good to know that some people used to bike to the club. I share ur wush for a more respected space for bikers. I spent a week in Budapest last year, and one of the things that was amazing for me was seeing a separate lane in the sidewalk just for the bikers ! I really wanted something like that to be applied here (unfortunately I am not optimistic about it)

Leave a Reply

