I was 20 – Mohamed Mounir

امبارح وانا بعذوبتى فارح
بشوق الهوى سارح
كان عمرى عشرين
***
كان الاقمار تتلاوح
صحت الابدان تترايح
يا زهرة السنين
كان عمرى عشرين
***
وانا زاهى بشبابى
مع جملة احبابى
الليل والدجى وامحانه
واحنا يا سهرانين
***
بدعت فى الريام عذبى
رفظ الرقيق عربى
واللى نعوزها ونكلمها
هذا كذب للعين
***
امبارح
وسط بحور وامواجى
زاد الغرام تهياجى
سر فى الشعور الشقرا
نلتها بالأخرين
***
بدعت فى الريام عذبى
رفظ الرقيق عربى
واللى نعوزها ونكلمها
هذا كذب للعين
***
امباااااااااارح
كان عمرى عشرين

I kept searching for this song’s lyrics for sooooo long, akhiran I found it (here). I had the album and in it I found the English translation of the song, which was great as I didn’t understand the arabic version !!!! Too bad I lost the album cover, I should dig in my old boxes, maybe I can find it again…

Anyway, in my search I found in Moon’s blog from a comment that the song is originally by Hamid El Baroudi, there is another verse not found in Mounir’s:

البارح كان الزمان سلطانى
الانكسار خلانى
حتى الشيبه بيدلونى
و هم الظلام فى العين
حسيت بالكبر.. زمنى
فى الزهو و الصغر.. نسانى
و بقيت كالمخمم
عليه تقول خلاص مسكين
البارح البارح
كان فى عمرى عشرين

https://i1.wp.com/photos1.blogger.com/blogger/303/770/1600/654b1.jpg

Other songs I miss:

 يالا بينا تعالوا … نسيب اليوم في حاله … وكل واحد فينا يركب حصان خياله

درجن درجن درجن درجن

And: 

يا ورد على فل وياسمين
الله عليك يا تمرحنة
خدلك هدية لحبيبتك
الورد ده زينة الجناين
قرب هنا
تعا عندنا
خد وردة يا بيه
خدى فلة يا هانم
وحياة ابوك لم تكسفنى
خدلك عودين
ده انا اسمى
نرجس
والله ان ما كنت
تنفعنى
لأزعق واقول
راجل مفلس
قرب هنا
تعا عندنا

9 responses to “I was 20 – Mohamed Mounir

  1. the english lyrics are found in the cover of Mohamed Mounir’s album, which is great as the arabic one is sometimes incomprehensible.

    Thanks Belya for the info, isn’t it eskendrella that will perform? I love this band.

  2. Pingback: Back from Alexandria « Kaleidoscope

  3. ابدعت في الريام عجبي…لفظي رقيق عربي
    واللي نحوزها ونكلمها كانت تذبل العيييين

  4. thanks🙂

    here is the english translation

    Yesterday when I was young. I used to enjoy my youth… Dwell in my yearnings and love… I was only twenty… waves were racing by… health was near by… what splendor years they were… I used to enjoy my youth among my companions… All night long… I knew heartache… used to have a crush on many ladies but refused to give in… ‘cos this is typically my arabic personality… and if i say i would still want… to fall in love more and more… then it’ll be obiviously a lie… Yesterday love overwhelmed me… deep inside its whirlpool… I tried my best to defeat it… And distract myself away… Yesterday I was twenty…

Leave a Reply

