Books on my wish list: Samarkand

I have heard about the tale of the friendship between Omar El Khaiam, Nizam El Mulk and El Sabbah (Castle of the assassins قلعة السفاحين) from the series of Fantasia by Dr. Ahmed Khaled Tawfiq. It really caught my attention, and then I heard from a friend that Amin Maalouf addressed this legend in one of his books, and as I fell in love with Maalouf’s “The Crusades through Arab Eyes“, I was eager to find that book too.

Here is an Amazon’s review: The first half of the book introduces three world-historical Persians: Omar himself, a brilliant poet, mathematician, and astronomer; the vizier Nizam al-Mulk, a philosophical despot whose political theories anticipate Machiavelli; and the fanatical cult leader Hassan, who commands an invincible army of assassins from the mountain fortress of Alamut. In the second half, a wealthy collector miraculously recovers the lost manuscript and books passage home on the Titanic in celebration.

Here are some quotes:

“Travelers are in too great a rush these days, in a rush to arrive – whatever it takes. But you do not arrive only at your destination. At every step of the journey you arrive somewhere and with every step you can discover a hidden facet of our planet. All you have to do is look, wish, believe and love.”.

https://i1.wp.com/www.interlinkbooks.com/Covers/Samarkand_300.jpeg

5 responses to “Books on my wish list: Samarkand

  1. I love the fact that you are writing book reviews while the book fair is ongoing🙂 I’m sure you’ve already gone, but would you like to go again??

  2. ehem,, I didn’t go to the book fair yet…
    I didn’t have the chance this weekend, I hope that I will be able to make this week, it will be less crowded. It is amazing how people consider it as a carnival, not a REAL BOOR fair.
    Wish me luck🙂

  3. Tab eih, would you like to go together Saturday morning? I have classes at 2, but I’m an early riser, can be at the fair by 10. Hmm.. if you feel like it the moderator of CBC has my number😀 Say hi to her from me.

  4. Pingback: My trip to the book fair « Kaleidoscope

Leave a Reply

