on poets and nature

“I HAVE said on a former occasion that “the true poet knows more
about Nature than the naturalist, because he carries her open
secrets in his heart. Eckermann could instruct Goethe in
ornithology, but could not Goethe instruct Eckermann in the meaning and mystery of the bird?”  But the poets sometimes rely too confidently upon their supposed intuitive knowledge of nature, and
grow careless about the accuracy of the details of their pictures…. Thus a New England poet speaks of “plucking the apple from the pine,” as if the pineapple grew upon the pine-tree.”

John Burroughs (1837 – 1921) – “Poets & Nature

https://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/5e/Johnburroughs22.jpg

I discovered this author in my ‘quote of the day’ section, he seems to be very interesting. I didn’t really understand some of his notions about science and religion, but some of his words touched me, like this one: “To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating; to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night; to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring – these are some of the rewards of the simple life.”

Sometimes I really want to leave all this behind, leave all the urban luxuries and head for a simpler life, maybe in the country side. I know that my image is very romanticized, maybe even influenced by the movies of the European countryside, but I would definitely love to try it one day. Even though I love my hectic life, sometimes I feel it will kill me.

2 responses to “on poets and nature

Leave a Reply

