Books on my wish list: Letters to a Young Poet

This is an expandable list of books on my wish list. It is not necessary that I get these books from the fair, bas aho, I wanted to list them so I won’t forget any…

Rainer Maria Rilke’s Letters to a Young Poet:

Here is a review: Rilke was a Czechoslovakian poet of some note in his lifetime (1875-1926) who in his late twenties and early thirties exchanged letters with a younger poet,  Franz Xaver Kappus, who sent Rilke some of his work for comment. The book contains 10 of Rilke’s letters, edited and translated from the original German, from that correspondence. Dated over a period of five years, the letters evolve from providing general advice on literary devices (such as the use of irony), to opinions on topics related to writing, including the value of others’ criticisms, to philosophizing on the virtues of solitary work, the uses of adversity, and the impact of building a life around one’s art. As one would expect from a poet, Rilke’s observations are intensely personal, heartfelt, and beautifully written.

And here is a quote

“Go into yourself and test the deeps in which your life takes rise; at its source you will find the answer to the question whether you must create. Accept it, just as it sounds, without inquiring into it. Perhaps it will turn out that you are called to be an artist. Then take that destiny upon yourself and bear it, its burden and its greatness, without ever asking what recompense might come from outside.”

6 responses to “Books on my wish list: Letters to a Young Poet

  1. I’ve hear of that guy before in my literature classes. Based on what I’ve read about his poetry, I’m not so interested in him. Though there are interesting works abroad, I still prefer the poetry of our Spanish Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer.

    I also have some books on my list:

    -“The picture of Dorian Gray”, Wilde’s world-famous novel.
    -“Paula”, Isabel Allende’s desperate and malencholic hymn to her daughter.
    -“Romeo and Juliet”, which once I read, but I feel I need to reread it (maybe once and again)

  2. Thanks for the tips Closto, I didn’t hear about him before so I’d better start learning.
    The picture of Dorian Gray is also on my list, I read a translated short version in arabic, and totally loved it, it is definitely on my wish list.
    I also heard about Paula from a book club I am joining, but I am not in the mood for melancholic tune.
    As for Romeo and Juliet, that’s interesting..
    Thanks again for the ideas, I would love to hear more suggestions🙂

Leave a Reply

