Moon shadow – Cat Stevens

This song was on top of my favorites list for a long time, but I REALLY can’t understand its meaning. Is it talking about accepting destiny? does it have mystical meanings that I don’t understand? Was Cat Stevens just playing with words? And what about this ‘faithful light’? what does he mean??? I don’t know. I just love the song.

I’m being followed by a moon shadow
leaping and hopping on a moon shadow

and if I ever lose my hands
lose my plough, lose my land
oh, if I ever lose my hands
I won’t have to work no more
and if I ever lose my eyes
If my colours all run dry
I won’t have to cry no more.

and if I ever lose my legs
I won’t moan and I won’t beg
I won’t have to walk no more
And if I ever lose my mouth
all my teeth, north and south
I won’t have to talk…

Did it take long to find me
I ask the faithful light
Ooh did it take long to find me
And are you going to stay the night
I’m being followed by a moon shadow
moon shadow – moon shadow
leaping and hopping on a moon shadow
moon shadow – moon shadow
moon shadow – moon shadow
moon shadow – moon shadow
https://i1.wp.com/www.mwe3.com/pictures/images/CatStevens.jpg

5 responses to “Moon shadow – Cat Stevens

  1. I guess it can mean many things, to many people. I’ve liked this song since a teenager (30+ yrs ago), but now being disabled with M.S. find different meaning in it.
    I now have my own (M)oon (S)hadow, and the words are rather fitting, and at the same time provide some degree of comfort.:>)

  2. My mother used to sing it to me every night and it has become one of the few songs I hold dear. I only recently found out that the song is about muscular dystrophy hence the lyrics about loosing parts of the body. I always saw it as a song of hope. To me, it tell of how there is always light in the darkest of times.

    Cat Stevens manages to capture the feeling of walking alone in a natural place with but the moon’s light to accompany him, and then provided speculation as to the meaning of life.

    In spite of the song’s depth, the song remains humble with an air of mystery…

    I would consider this one of the greatest pieces of music ever written.

  3. The basic meaning: In an interview (I think on VH1 “Behind the Music)
    he said recovering from TB made him simply glad to be alive, and he would never complain about anything again. So, in the song, he finds happiness within, even though bad thing happen. Also, after he nearly died from the illness in about 1969, the spiritual dimension of life started to come to him – that’s the “faithful light”.
    The “Moonshadow” can’t be exactly defined, but it could be bad luck, or just the suffering which is a part of samsara – being human.

  4. The moon casts light in the darkness. He is speaking about a light that shines on him even in the dark times, or during life’s tragedies. “The faithful light”. Even if he loses his eyes, he won’t have to cry no more. Very optimistic. He had said he had hoped it would bring people hope in times of tragedy. He also said in several interviews he got the idea for the lyric while dancing by the ocean at night in the light of the moon and noticing the moonlight be so bright it cast his shadow.

Leave a Reply

