Hier encore – Aznavour

Habba french ba`a🙂 Aznavour is a living legend, he wrote many songs (including this one) and all of the songs I have for him are very special. His voice is deep and strong, his singingis so special. I discovered that Hier Encore was translated into english in a song called Yesterday when I was young (i heard it in the Old is Gold collection), Herbert Kretzmer translated the general meanings, but there were smalldetails that Aznavour was so skillful in showing, masalan, he says, yesterday when I was twenty years old, i caressed time and played with life, like how we play with love and I lived the night without counting the days that escaped in time. I made many projects that remained unimplemented, I founded many hopes that were not made, that I was lost not knowing where to go,… (I am not very good in translation!)

https://i0.wp.com/www.harmonytalk.com/images/aznavour.jpg

J’aime beaucoup cette chanson. Aznavour est super genial, sa voix est vraiment douce. Et les paroles sont tres mouvantes…

Hier encore j’avais vingt ans
Je caressais le temps et jouais de la vie
Comme on joue de l’amour et je vivais la nuit
Sans compter sur mes jours qui fuyaient dans le temps

J’ai fait tant de projets qui sont restés en l’air
J’ai fondé tant d’espoirs qui se sont envolés
Que je reste perdu, ne sachant où aller
Mes yeux cherchant le ciel mais le coeur mis en terre

Hier encore j’avais vingt ans
Je gaspillais le temps en voulant l’arrêter
Et pour le retenir, même le devancer,
Je n’ai fait que courir et me suis essouflé

Ignorant le passé, conjugant au futur,
Je précédais de «moi» toute conversation
Et donnais mon avis que je voulais le bon
Pour critiquer le monde avec désinvolture

Hier encore j’avais vingt ans
Mais j’ai perdu mon temps à faire des folies
Qui ne me laissent au fond rien de vraiment précis
Que quelques rides au front et la peur de l’ennui

Car mes amours sont mortes avant que d’exister
Mes amis sont partis et ne reviendront pas
Par ma faute j’ai fait le vide autour de moi
Et j’ai gâché ma vie et mes jeunes années

Du meilleur et du pire, en jetant le meilleur,
J’ai figé mes sourires et j’ai glacé mes pleurs…
Où sont-ils à présent,
À présent, mes vingt ans?

Here is the english version written by Herbert Kretzmer ,, so enjoy🙂

Yesterday when I was young
the taste of life was sweet as rain upon my tongue.
I teased at life as if it were a foolish g ame,
the way the evening breeze may tease a candle fl ame.
The thousand dreams I dreamed, the splendid things I planned
I always built alas on weak and shifting sand.
I lived by night and shunned the naked light of the day
and only now I see how the years ran away.

4 responses to “Hier encore – Aznavour

  1. At first when you said “Yesterday” I thought you were referring to the Beatles song🙂 Yet when I read the lyrics you posted I realized i was a whole other song, very nice.

  2. well Inji and Nousha,

    have you heard imagine by John Lennon, the famous beatles singer

    its one of the greatest, his voice, lyrics and simple tunes all are amazing

    enjoyed beeing here

  3. I know this song, but I feel like it -indirectly- have hidden agendas. The music is sweet, and i love John Lenon, some of the words are really nice and soothing, but parts of it reminds me of the anarchist movements…
    Anyway, here it is:

    Imagine there’s no Heaven
    It’s easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    Imagine all the people
    Living for today

    Imagine there’s no countries
    It isn’t hard to do
    Nothing to kill or die for
    And no religion too
    Imagine all the people
    Living life in peace

    You may say that I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the world will be as one

    Imagine no possessions
    I wonder if you can
    No need for greed or hunger
    A brotherhood of man
    Imagine all the people
    Sharing all the world

    You may say that I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the world will live as one

Leave a Reply

