Are you thirsty?

Did you feel this thirst? I don’t mean water, I mean a thirst for knowledge. I have this feeling every now and then, and I grab few books (History, Philosophy, Astronomy, Mathematics, Physics,,, whatever), and read few chapters. But then I grab another novel and return to the world of stories. I don’t mind reading stories, however I need to insert some facts in my life.

Again thanks to Serafis, I will have the chance to learn more about classical philosophy. We started by studying Ancient Egyptians, and we’ll go through Buddism, Chinese civilizations,,, till we rech modern philosophy. This is what I was looking for.As I said, every now and then I would read passages from classical texts, but I never reached anything specific. Now I have some sort of a road map for the things I want to learn, or in other words to be educated, and in Serafis terms, education is a 3 steps process: Information, Integration AND Transformation. Another definition of the philosophy of education, it is “the process of human existential growth, i.e. how it is that our understanding of the world is continually transformed”. And this IS what I REALLY need !!

And talking about Knowledge, here is an interesting definition by wikipedia: “Knowledge is what is known. Like the related concepts truth, belief, and wisdom, there is no single definition of knowledge on which scholars agree, but rather numerous theories and continued debate about the nature of knowledge. Knowledge acquisition involves complex cognitive processes: perception, learning, communication, association, and reasoning. The term knowledge is also used to mean the confident understanding of a subject, potentially with the ability to use it for a specific purpose.”

Kefaya kalam kebir el post dah ,,,, Wish me luck, and if you have ideas, please let me know…

2 responses to “Are you thirsty?

  1. 🙂 u r right, sometimes a person gets overwhelmed he can’t start digging the well !
    It is like when u feel too thirsty and don’t know from where to start

Leave a Reply

