Pocahontas

Another movie that I loved was Pocanhontas. It is full of life and the spirit of discovery.

I am fond of the two songs I am putting their lyrics: Colors of the Win, and Just around the riverbend. The first one expores the hidden secrets of nature that ‘normal’ people don’t see, and the second deals with the issue of making decisions. I remember that she was standing infront of the two choices, one where the river was slow and easy (but boring), and the other where it was fast and challenging…. You have to see it !

https://i0.wp.com/z.about.com/d/musiced/1/0/z/4/pocahontas.jpg

Colors of the Wind Lyrics

Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon
Or asked the grinning bobcat why he grinned?
Can you sing with all the voices of the mountains?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?

Come run the hidden pine trails of the forest
Come taste the sunsweet berries of the Earth
Come roll in all the riches all around you
And for once, never wonder what they’re worth

The rainstorm and the river are my brothers
The heron and the otter are my friends
And we are all connected to each other
In a circle, in a hoop that never ends

https://i1.wp.com/www.disgalaxy.addr.com/Stories/Pocahontas/dgss21.jpg

Just Around the Riverbend Lyrics

What I love most about rivers is:
You can’t step in the same river twice
The water’s always changing, always flowing
But people, I guess, can’t live like that
We all must pay a price
To be safe, we lose our chance of ever knowing
What’s around the riverbend
Waiting just around the riverbend

Should I choose the smoothest curve
Steady as the beating drum?
Should I marry Kocoum?
Is all my dreaming at an end?
Or do you still wait for me, Dream Giver
Just around the riverbend?

https://i1.wp.com/www.cnn.com/SHOWBIZ/9604/03/hw_min/pocahontas.large.jpg

13 responses to “Pocahontas

  1. Artist: Vanessa Williams Lyrics
    Song: Colors of the Wind Lyrics
    You think you own whatever land you land on
    The Earth is just a dead thing you can claim
    But I know every rock and tree and creature
    Has a life, has a spirit, has a name

    You think the only people who are people
    Are the people who look and think like you
    But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger
    You’ll learn things you never knew you never knew

    Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon
    Or asked the grinning bobcat why he grinned?
    Can you sing with all the voices of the mountains?
    Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?
    Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?

    Come run the hidden pine trails of the forest
    Come taste the sunsweet berries of the Earth
    Come roll in all the riches all around you
    And for once, never wonder what they’re worth

    The rainstorm and the river are my brothers
    The heron and the otter are my friends
    And we are all connected to each other
    In a circle, in a hoop that never ends

    Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon
    Or have the Eagle tell where he’s been?
    Can you sing with all the voices of the moutnain
    Can you paint with all the colors of the wind
    Can you paint with all the colors of the wind

    How high will the sycamore grow?
    If you cut it down, then you’ll never know
    And you’ll never hear the wolf cry to the blue corn moon

    For whether we are white or copper skinned
    We need to sing with all the voices of the mountains
    We need to paint with all the colors of the wind

    You can own the Earth and still
    All you’ll own is Earth until
    You can paint with all the colors of the wind

  2. Just Around the Riverbend Lyrics
    [Pocahontas]
    What I love most about rivers is:
    You can’t step in the same river twice
    The water’s always changing, always flowing
    But people, I guess, can’t live like that
    We all must pay a price
    To be safe, we lose our chance of ever knowing
    What’s around the riverbend
    Waiting just around the riverbend

    I look once more
    Just around the riverbend
    Beyond the shore
    Where the gulls fly free
    Don’t know what for
    What I dream the day might send
    Jut around the riverbend
    For me
    Coming for me

    I feel it there beyond those trees
    Or right behind these waterfalls
    Can I ignore that sound of distant drumming
    For a handsome sturdy husband
    Who builds handsome sturdy walls
    And never dreams that something might be coming?
    Just around the riverbend
    Just around the riverbend

    I look once more
    Just around the riverbend
    Beyond the shore
    Somewhere past the sea
    Don’t know what for …
    Why do all my dreams extend
    Just around the riverbend?
    Just around the riverbend …

    Should I choose the smoothest curve
    Steady as the beating drum?
    Should I marry Kocoum?
    Is all my dreaming at an end?
    Or do you still wait for me, Dream Giver
    Just around the riverbend?

Leave a Reply

